February 10, 2015
By Joe Baker

Tuesday, Feb. 17, to vote in an election to fill the vacancy created in the position of State Representative for District 17 which includes Karnes, Bastrop, Caldwell, Gonzales and Lee Counties.

The runoff will be held on Tuesday, Feb. 17 to fill the vacancy left after the resignation of Tim Kleinschmidt.

Early voting began Feb. 9 in the Karnes County Elections Administration Office which is located in Suite 140 of the Karnes County Offices on the Square at 210 W. Calvert in Karnes City. Early voting continues through Friday, Feb. 13. Early voting hours are each of these days, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

John Cyrier (Republican) of Lockhart is facing Brent Golemon (Republican) of Bastrop in the runoff election.

Cyrier received 46 percent of the vote across the district in the Jan. 6 special election and Golemon received 24 percent of the vote spread out among a field of five candidates.

Voters who would normally vote in voting precincts 1 (St. Cornelius Catholic Church), 12 (City Hall, Karnes City) and 13 (City Hall, Karnes City) will all vote at St. Cornelius Catholic Church at 605 E. Calvert in Karnes City.

Voters who would normally vote in voting precincts 2 (Snoga Store, Panna Maria), 3 (Gillett Baptist Church) and 8 (Karnes County Museum, Helena) will all vote at the Karnes County Museum located at 8167 N. Farm-To-Market Road 81.

Voters who would normally vote in voting precincts 4 (City Hall, Kenedy), 9 (Choate Cafeteria), 11 (Good Shepherd Lutheran, Kenedy), 14 (Mexican Baptist Church or City Hall, Kenedy) and 15 (Our Lady Queen of Peace Catholic Church, Kenedy) will all vote at City Hall located at 303 W. Main Street in Kenedy.

Voters who would normally vote in voting precinct 5, Runge VFW Hall, will vote at the Runge VFW Hall as usual.

Voters who would normally vote in voting precincts 6 (NBVM Catholic Church, Cestohowa), 7 (Falls City Diner) and 10 (St. Boniface Catholic Church, Hobson) will all vote at the Falls City Diner located at 207 W. Meyer Street in Falls City.

The polls will be open on Election Day, Tuesday, Feb. 17, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This