July 6, 2015

State Rep. Wayne Smith Announces for Reelection and Releases Early Endorsement List

BAYTOWN, TX – Coming off what Republican Governor Greg Abbott called “the most conservative legislative session that we’ve ever seen,” State Representative Wayne Smith (R-Baytown) today announced his intention to run for re-election to Texas House District 128.

“Serving the families of District 128 has been a true honor, and today I’m humbled to announce my campaign for re-election,” said Smith. “Working with the local community, I am proud of what we’ve accomplished and I’m excited about the future.”

In making his announcement, Smith cited key accomplishments from the past legislative session which include passing the strongest border security measures in Texas history, passing a balanced state budget that grows less than population plus inflation, cutting property and business taxes by $4 billion, increasing funding for public education, allowing licensed gun-owners to open carry, and protecting Pastor’s rights to decline to perform same-sex marriages. A proud Vietnam Veteran, Smith was also honored to speak at the unveiling of the Texas Capitol Vietnam Veterans Monument this session. Smith carried legislation that allowed the monument to be built on Capitol grounds.

He also cited his work at the local level which includes cracking down on illegal game rooms that have become breeding grounds for crime, funding for the construction of Spur 330 which will help local traffic mobility, funding to repair Battleship Texas and keep it afloat, creation of the Houston Ship Channel Security District, cracking down on scrap metal and copper thieves, and protecting Lee College and San Jacinto Community College.

Smith also released an early list of endorsements for his campaign. Endorsements include Harris County Judge Ed Emmett, local Mayors, all Republican County Commissioners, former Harris County Constable Bill Bailey, U.S. Congressman Brian Babin, and dozens of community leaders and elected officials.

“I’m honored to have the support of Judge Emmett, my local mayors, and dozens of leaders and elected officials throughout this district,” said Smith. “These are the people that know me best, and to have their support says a lot about what we’ve been able to accomplish in the Texas Legislature. I look forward to running an aggressive grassroots campaign based on my local support and record of delivering results for the state and our district.”

State Rep. Wayne Smith Early Endorsement List:

Ed Emmett – Harris County Judge
Brian Babin – U.S. Congressman, District 36
Jack Morman – Harris County Commissioner, Precinct 2
Steve Radack – Harris County Commissioner, Precinct 3
Jack Cagle – Harris County Commissioner, Precinct 4
Bill Bailey – Former Harris County Constable, Pct. 8 and a member of Conservative Citizens Coalition
Phil Sandlin – Harris Co. Constable, Pct. 8 and a member of Conservative Citizens Coalition
Steve Don Carlos – Baytown Mayor, POHA Commissioner, Former Baytown Rotary Club President and current Baytown Rotary Club member
Jerry Mouton, Jr. – Deer Park Mayor
Louis R. Rigby – La Porte Mayor
Johnny Isbell – Pasadena Mayor and a member of the Conservative Citizens Coalition
Michel Bechtel – Morgan’s Point Mayor
Wayne Riddle – Former Deer Park Mayor
Barry Beasley – Former La Porte Mayor
John Manlove – Former Pasadena Mayor
Calvin Mundinger – Former Baytown Mayor, current Governor Perry Appointee and Baytown Rotary Club member
Jimmy Burke – Former Deer Park Mayor, Former POHA Commissioner and current Governor Perry Appointee
Terry Sain – Baytown Council Member, Former Baytown Rotary Club President and current Baytown Rotary Club member
Darrell Morrison – Pasadena At-large Council Member and a member of the Conservative Citizens Coalition
Steve Cote – Former Pasadena Council Member
Pete Alfaro – Lee College Regent, Former Baytown Mayor and a member of Baytown Rotary Club
Dr. Keith Coburn – Lee College Regent
Dan Mims – Chairman San Jacinto Community College Trustee
John “JR” Moon Jr. – San Jacinto Community College Trustee
Marie Flickinger – San Jacinto Community College Trustee
Tom Cottar – Republican Precinct Chair (386) and former SREC Member
Spencer Carnes, P.E. – Texas Society of Professional Engineers Member and Longtime Baytown Resident
John Saavedra, P.E. – Texas Society of Professional Engineers Member and Pasadena Resident
Chad Burke – Economic Alliance and Chair of Conservative Citizens Coalition
Eddie V. Gray – Baytown Rotary Club Member
David Kadjar – Former Baytown Rotary Club President and current Baytown Rotary Club member
Roger Elswick – Car Dealership Owner, Former Baytown Rotary Club President, current Baytown Rotary Club member and Baytown Citizen of the Year
George Watkins – Longtime La Porte Resident
Greg Angel – Local Business Owner and Lifelong Baytown Resident
Stanley Briers – Former Governor Bush Appointee to the Texas Board of Plumbing Examiners
Pam Warford – Lifetime Baytown Resident, Former Baytown Rotary Club President, and a current Baytown Rotary Club member
Doug Walker – Governor Perry Appointee, Beach City Alderman, Former Baytown Rotary Club President and current Baytown Rotary Club member
Molly Maness-Smith – Former Justice of the Peace and Pasadena Resident
Carroll Smith – Car Dealership owner in Pasadena and Pasadena Resident
The Phelps Family – John, Steve and Ken
Brian Hawthorne – Chambers County Sherriff
Rev. Roger Blackburn – La Porte Resident
John Moon – Pasadena Businessman and a member of Conservative Citizens Coalition
Victoria Fayle – Lifetime Baytown Resident
Mike Jackson – Former Texas State Senator
Foxy Matherne – Baytown Rotary Club Member
Tammie Nielsen – Pasadena Resident and Republican activist
Keith Nielsen – Pasadena Resident and Republican activist
Wanda Peters – Lifetime Baytown Resident
Dan Peters – Lifetime Baytown Resident

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This